Green Your Life

Talking about amazing eco-friendly products and access to my online Wikaniko shop.

Planting for Bees (other other bugs)

Leave a comment

Bugs in a pumpkin flower!

Bugs in a pumpkin flower!

Now is a really great time to get planting wildflower seeds for bees, butterflies and all sorts of other bugs.  I love going around collecting wildflower seeds and taking them home to plant.  From doing this and buying some plants, I have quite a collection of wildflowers in my garden – most I haven’t got a clue what they are called, but if bees and bugs like them, they get to stay.

A mixture of wildflowers. The tall ones with big leaves have lovely purple flowers!

A mixture of wildflowers. The tall ones with big leaves have lovely purple flowers!

Throughout the late summer and autumn I go around collecting the seeds and some I plant in trays or pots recently vacated by the carrots that have left the garden for the kitchen and our stomachs.  Some I scatter around my wildflower beds and some I keep for spring.  I also use some of our lovely wildflower seed-balls which do really well, though unfortunately, a bit of chilli powder in the seed-ball-mix does not deter the slugs!

The wildflower patch in early summer.

The wildflower patch in early summer.

The plan is to have quite a lot of wildflower plugs that will be slug resistant come spring!  This spring the slugs definitely won the vegetable and wildflower seedling battle for quite a few weeks!  I may not have been happy.

My large white daisy’s (Ox-eye I think) are coming up well and so are some sweet williams, the marigolds, some lovely blue flowers and others that will only be recognisable when they are quite a bit bigger!

Blue flowers, loved by bees and other invertebrates!

Blue flowers, loved by bees and other invertebrates!

I may even be so successful in my wildflower growing that the kids will be able to sell some alongside more strawberry plants at a spring-time event!  However, they will have to help out with potting on so that the wildflowers have a good chance at survival.  And we may need to figure out what they all are – not sure people are happy buying ‘lovely blue flowers that bees like’!  But you never know!!

The white daisies growing on well

The white daisies growing on well

I admit wildflower areas don’t always look pretty or neat, but by having a few of these areas in your garden gives bees food and a home.  As our world climate changes, the bees, butterflies and many other animals will need our support more and more to survive.

So go on, plant some wildflowers and give a bee a hug!

Author: ecomumof2

I am a mum of 2 children, currently 8 and 4.5. We Home Educate and enjoy a wide range of activities - many of which involve being outdoors.

Leave a Reply

