Green Your Life

Talking about amazing eco-friendly products and access to my online Wikaniko shop.

What do you do with a glut of tomatoes?

Leave a comment

IMG_1734[1]

Jars of Green Tomato Chutney – a great achievement for me (in my opinion!)

The tomatoes are nearly over.  There are a few in the greenhouse, but I am not sure if they will ripen – may have to bring them into the house and place them in a warmish spot alongside a ripe banana!

However, despite losing a load to blight and having to dig up and burn or bin the plants, I think I have done well from my tomato glut this year:-

In addition to eating loads (between us a minimum of 6 tomatoes a day) over the last couple of months I have made:-

2L+ of grated tomato – bagged and frozen.  (grating is a really easy way to prepare and store – cut in half around the middle and grate the flesh and bin/eat/soup the skin!

Tomato Soup for about 8 – tubbed and frozen (I am no good at following a recipie and tend to use them as a guideline.  I don’t like recipes that say ‘get rid of half the tomato – seeds, skin etc.  So I tend to keep the lot.  Then I look to see what else is in the fridge or kitchen.  In this case it was carrots and onions (latter from the garden too).  Method:- chop, fry onion, chop other veg, cook up, add whatever herbs have to hand, add a bit of pepper, cook, grind, cool and freeze.  Yummy!

Go on, ripen!

In the height of summer, all looking healthy!

A large pan of My Passata/Paste – well, as almost all of the recipes said to get rid of both skin and seeds, I ignored them and kept the lot.   Method – chop tomatoes, put in pan.  Add some salt and some vinegar and some honey (all to taste).  Add lots of dried basil (not my garden stuff, sorry) bring to boil for a bit (run off deal with small person needing something, come back and remember to turn it down) and then simmer for about 1.5 hours until looked sufficiently gloopy and yummy.  Pour into ice-cube trays and freeze.

10 jars of Green Tomato Chutney – per usual totally incapable of following a recipe, so used two and made up the bits in between!  Actually tastes OK, especially with a bit of cheese.

Lessons for next year:-

  1.  Don’t plant quite so many plants! Give away young plants if I have more than say 15 plants!
  2. Make sure the outside ones have good support and enough room to grow.
  3. Try to get around to pinching out slightly more often than I did this year!
  4. Make sure have some cherry tomatoes as they are really tasty.
  5. Remember not to plant any tomatoes or related plants in the areas that had blight this year.

How did your garden grow this year?

Author: ecomumof2

I am a mum of 2 children, currently 8 and 4.5. We Home Educate and enjoy a wide range of activities - many of which involve being outdoors.

Leave a Reply

