Green Your Life

Talking about amazing eco-friendly products and access to my online Wikaniko shop.

Blackberry Jam With Chia Seeds

Leave a comment

Chia seeds ready to go into the blackberry & water puree.

Chia seeds ready to go into the blackberry & water puree.

I had hoped to make strawberry jam earlier this year using garden strawberries!  Silly me, with my two small strawberry munching monsters I would need at least 10m² of strawberry plants to have a hope of getting enough to make a single pot!

Luckily, this year is proving to be an excellent blackberry year.  Even with the blackberry munching monster that is my son eating as many as he possibly can, I still managed to pick about 1½ cups full.  Enough for some jam.

Chia seeds sitting on top of the puree with honey drizzled on top.  Next step stir

Chia seeds sitting on top of the puree with honey drizzled on top. Next step stir

So off to Google to find a recipie using Chia seeds and came across this excellent one from Instructibles (a great word – my daughter uses this for instructions, so had to use their recipie).

Why Chia Seeds?  Well, they are full of fibre, Omega 3, protien and loads more and they swell up in water so you don’t need to use gelatin or even cook your jam!  Just make enough for a couple of weeks, as this is how long it will last in the fridge.

I find the concept of ‘cups’ as measuring a simple one, but don’t actually use the correct measure.  I just use a cup (any cup from the cupboard).  Then use the same cup for all ingredients that say ‘cup’. I admit, this is a little hap-hazard, but it works for me – usually.

Made 1.5 pots of jam - ready for the fridge

Made 1.5 pots of jam – ready for the fridge

I really like this recipie as it is a no-cook one.  So, in theory, you could even make it camping – say if you camped next to a pick-your-own or if you found loads of blackberries!

Note to self – read recipie before starting!  I added the water to my blackberries before mashing – should have been the other way round.  So did cheat with the blender to get a smoother mix.

Lovely on croissant for breakfast & oh, so healthy!

Lovely on croissant for breakfast & oh, so healthy!

Then added my Chia Seeds and some honey and a good squeeze of lemon.  Then stirred and left to set.

Verdict – well, yummy!  A little sharp for me who has a very sweet tooth, but the kids like it and that is all to the good.

Great on bread, croissants and probably more!

Author: ecomumof2

I am a mum of 2 children, currently 8 and 4.5. We Home Educate and enjoy a wide range of activities - many of which involve being outdoors.

Leave a Reply

