Green Your Life

Talking about amazing eco-friendly products and access to my online Wikaniko shop.

Royal Jelly Combats Hayfever

Leave a comment

I developed hayfever when I was 16 and worked in a riding stables over the summer to earn a pittance of pocketmoney and get lots of free rides!  Since then, spring and summer has heralded a snotty nose, streaming eyes and itchy ears (right inside where nothing quite reaches and trying to scratch this incredibly itchy itch is impossible).

Interestingly, I don’t suffer from hayfever in all places – when living in Thailand I never suffered terribly, a bit of itchy ear and that was it!  However, in the UK from birch & conifer pollen early in the spring, through the lovely spring flowers, the beautiful grasses and other tree pollens in the summer I sneeze and snuffle.

Pregnancy did put my snuffles on hold – I’d love to know if anyone else has had a pregnancy holiday from hayfever too!  This is probably not suprising (according to my more scientific sister) as when you are pregnant your immune system is not so active, so you don’t reject the baby.  This lowered sensitivity resulted in no hayfever for me!

A tablet a day is keeping my hayfever at bay

A tablet a day is keeping my hayfever at bay

Chatting with some other business mums last autumn, we talked about allergies and hayfever and how to combat these using more natural methods than the doctor might prescribe.  One mum mentioned Royal Jelly – the product queen bees feast on – and how well this worked for her.

On getting home, I checked the numerous health supplements in my Green Your Life shop and yup, there it was…. Royal Jelly.  Well, at £2.99 for a month’s worth of capsules, I reckoned it was worth a go.

Now 6+ months on, I can report that though it has not completely rid me of all hayfever symptoms (I do get the occassional itchy ear, but nothing like most years when I drive others nuts with the noise I make trying to scratch the itch with my tongue!), most have not occurred this year.  Now, I admit it has not been the best of years for hayfever – cold, damp and generally miserable does not lead to high pollen counts.  However, even on the warmer days we have had I have not been streaming in eye and nose.  I thought this may just be that the pollen types that affect me may not have been in the air on those days, so it was not conclusive.

But then, this week I took the kids down to rural Dorset to see their grandparents.  This gorgeous patch of countryside has one summertime problem for me – huge swathes of yellow oil-seed rape.  Usually one look at those golden fields and my eyes start to water, my nose runs and my ears itch.  This time… a little itching and that was it!

So, for me, it is pretty conclusive.  Royal Jelly is keeping my hayfever at bay.

I will need to keep taking it through the year and it is best to be taking it for a while before spring to let the body build up resistance but I think it is really worth it!

Whilst this is my personal experience, there is no scientific proof for it.  However, the scientists have been busy studying the benefits of Royal Jelly and here is a summary of what they have found:-

  • One study found that royal jelly has the ability to stimulate the growth of neural stem cells and glial cells in the brain, which may mean that it can help prevent diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease.
  • Studies have found that royal jelly has the ability to lower total serum cholesterol levels in people with moderately elevated cholesterol levels.
  • It is believed to have anti-aging properties, improving collagen production in skin and overall youthfulness.
  • It has been shown to have anti-inflammatory properties when ingested and when applied topically.
  • Research has found that royal jelly has wound healing properties when applied topically to the skin.
  • Royal Jelly contains an antibiotic called 10-Hydroxy-Dgr2-decenoic acid that is effective against many bacteria.
  • Cancer Research in Japan suggests that royal jelly has strong anti-cancer properties. Croatian researchers found that royal jelly injected into mice at the same time that they were injected with cancer cells significantly reduced the spread of cancer.
  • Royal Jelly is believed to aid in fertility by improving the quality of a woman’s eggs and promoting overall youthfulness of her reproductive organs and body.
  • Many women find that royal jelly relieves many of the symptoms of PMS.IMPORTANT: Before you decide to take royal jelly, be aware that people with allergies to bees or honey may have serious allergic reactions
Author: ecomumof2

I am a mum of 2 children, currently 8 and 4.5. We Home Educate and enjoy a wide range of activities - many of which involve being outdoors.

Leave a Reply

